Government of Canada announces recipients of the 2016 Public Service Award of Excellence

June 14, 2016 – Ottawa – Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

The Government of Canada recognizes the important contribution of its world-class public service in delivering quality programs and services for Canadians.

Today, the Government highlighted the significant contributions of public servants from across the country, announcing the recipients of the 2016 Public Service Award of Excellence. This prestigious award is given in 14 categories, including Employee Innovation, Excellence in Citizen-Focused Service Delivery, Scientific Contribution, and Exemplary Contribution Under Extraordinary Circumstances.

The recipients will receive their awards at a ceremony in the fall.

Quick facts

  • The 238 recipients for the 2016 award have excelled in a wide range of areas, from using robotics to improve health care in the North, to better protecting our food and water from pathogen contamination, to supporting efforts to welcome 25,000 Syrian refugees into Canada.
  • The complete list of award recipients and the profiles of recipients from the previous two years are available on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s Public Service Award of Excellence web page.
  • The award is non-monetary and may be given to individual or group recipients.
  • Recipients are selected by a committee from nominations submitted from across the public service, using established criteria for each category.


“As we move forward with an ambitious and progressive agenda, I’m glad we can count on the full commitment and resourcefulness of Canada’s world-class public service. The winners of these prestigious awards exemplify the very best qualities of our public servants needed to tackle the challenges of this generation. ”

The Honourable Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board of Canada

“As Clerk of the Privy Council and head of the public service, I am immensely proud of the work done every day by our public servants here in Canada and around the world. This year’s award winners have achieved inspiring results by committing to excellence in service delivery, by embracing technology and innovation, and by collaborating with public and private sector organizations across the country.”

Michael Wernick, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet

Associated Links

Media contacts

Jean-Luc Ferland
Press Secretary
Office of the President of the Treasury Board

Media Relations
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

TTY (telecommunications device for the hearing impaired) – 613-369-9371

Follow us on Twitter: @TBS_Canada.

Source link

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *